Week 2 – Music of Spheres & Magick

May 19, 2010 at 4:30 am (Uncategorized)

The Music of the Spheres
The Seven Different Layers of Existence

Our experiences become the Goddess’ experience. All of the power and ability that the Goddess has is also a part of us. As we incarnate, we go through the veil. It makes us “forget” that we are part of the Goddess. We forget that we are spiritual beings, and we focus on our physical being. We are not as aware of what exists above us. When we leave the physical, we will go through the planes of existence or go through evolution. Involution is the movement from the spiritual plane towards the physical plane. Plane 1 is physical., 2 is emotional, 3, mental, 4 is astral, 5 is soular or egoic, 6 is monadic, and 7 is divine. We cannot devolve, only evolve. It is generally accepted that we are on the mental plane. That means that we can perceive the mental, emotional, and physical planes of existence. Although we have perceptions of the remaining 4 levels that are “higher,” we don’t exist there.

Planes 1, 2 & 3 are grouped together and are governed by the God. These are our “lower self.”
Plane 1Physical
Plane 2Emotional
Plane 3Mental

Plane 4 is alone. Astral is accessed in our magick and in our sleep. The feeling of flying, moving running, etc. is experiencing astral travel. Also called the “causal self” because we cause things to happen, experience in our “lower self.” The astral portion of our higher self is what sets all our potential events in motion whether we accept or reject them. Also called the “intuitional” or “buddhic” level. This is the level we shift to in order to do our magick.

We experience Planes 1-4 on a daily basis.

Planes 5, 6 & 7 are together and are governed by the Goddess. These are contacted in our “higher self.”
Plane 5Egoic self or Soular self
The soul is the separate personality of the higher self. It is the collective of the many lifetimes.
Plane 6Monad
Comes from the Greek monus or the individual. It is the perfect “self” which was directly separated from the Goddess (not to be seen as truly separated since we are still a part of the Goddess). The monad always moves to the “good” and is incapable of doing otherwise. Remembers the time of creation when all was one. It remembers being separated off of the Goddess and has a natural desire to evolve.
Plane 7Divine
The Goddess herself. At some point in our souls existence, it will be reconnected and reabsorbed into her. We experience for her. She sees, feels, and learns through us. This is so she can grow, learn, and enjoy life.

Being a witch means:

  • Successfully mastered use of energy
  • Understand the use of herbs
  • Honor the earth and its cycles
  • Follow a path of duality
  • Master magick

Magick is the manipulation of energy.

When you create a spell, it begins in the mind. After it is developed fully, it must go into the astral plane. We create it and send it into the astral plane. It comes back down into the physical realm and manifests itself there. Need to be able to focus and have the ability to master manipulation.

The universe is composed of energy. Energy reacts to two things: thought and emotion. This is why rising to the astral level allows for us to control energy. This is why clearing and releasing is so important. Creating energy without releasing it will throw the entire day off. Need to be in control of what we draw in, control, and dispel. It is important to hold onto the energy and release the energy effectively, so that the spell is fed and dispelled into the astral level.

Energy Meditation
Relax your body. Take three deep breaths each inspiration, pause, expiration, and pause taking 3 seconds long. Visualize the spine’s energy as roots that grow into the ground and into the pool of energy in the earth. Every time you breathe in, imagine that the energy is moving up your roots and into your solar plexus (the area in your abdomen below your sternum and above your naval). Fill the solar plexus with the energy from the pool of energy. With intention draw the energy from solar plexus and form it into a ball in your hands. Play with the energy. What does it feel like? How does it move? When you’re ready, you’ll need to dissipate the energy. You can put your hands on the earth and give it back. Or as you sense that the energy is weakening, you can just let it leak out into the air and bring your fingertips together.

Grounding Meditation from Starhawk – Similar mediation to keep our energies grounded in the Earth.

Candle Meditation
Relax your body. Take three deep breaths each inspiration, pause, expiration, and pause taking 3 seconds long. Visualize. Need to have 20 minutes of meditating. Burn an incense. Use this incense only for meditating, which will become a trigger for the mind. Must be the same incense for meditation. Have a candle. Use it for focusing. Sit at a table with feet flat on the floor. Crossing legs blocks energy. Start with the three deep breaths (3 seconds in, 3 seconds hold, 3 seconds out, 3 seconds hold). Light the incense and the candle after you do the three breaths. Take deep breath to smell the incense. Focus on the flame of that candle. Incense generally burns for 20 minutes. See what you see in the candle. If a thought enters, acknowledge it and let it go. Focus on the candle. Don’t do this in the dark because it will hurt the eyes. Meditate on a lit candle in a lit room. Don’t try to do this before going to bed because you’ll just fall asleep. Try to do it in the morning. Once you get used to the 20 minute focus, the candle will not be needed.

Homework: Candle meditation. This has to be done daily!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: